DEPC’s Board of Directors and working committees are made up of parents, child care providers, representatives from the school systems and human service agencies, members of the faith community and local business and government. Each member is committed to ensuring the financial and programmatic integrity of the Partnership.

Officers & Committee Chairs: 

Board Chair: Stacy Sumner Jesso, SumnerMadison Consulting

Vice Chair: Dr. Trent Mohrbutter, AVID Center

Treasurer: Adrienne Covington, VP of Finance, NCC 

Secretary:  Natalie Bess, Edgecombe County  Deputy County Manager 

CCR&R Advisory Committee Chair: Frenchy Davis, Foundation Builders Academy 

Community Outreach Committee Chair:  Leigh Daughtridge,  Monarch 

Strategic Planning Committee Chair: Dr. Trent Mohrbutter, AVID Center


Betty Battle, Edgecombe County Department of Social Services

Dr. Valerie Bridges, Edgecombe County Public Schools, Designee Dr. Michael Myrick, At-Large Seat

Sherron Deal, Retired Educator

Natema Drummond,  Parent At-Large Seat

Dr. Steve Ellis, Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools, Designee Melissa Dancy-Smith, At-Large Seat

Michelle Etheridge, Edgecombe County Health Department

Eric Evans, Edgecombe County Manager, Designee Natalie Bess

Debby Futrell, Area L AHEC

Tanya Heath, Edgecombe Cooperative Extension

Lew Hunnicutt, Nash Community College, Designee Adrienne Covington

Linda Knight, Child Care Center

Shane Lancaster, Coastal Credit Union (Business)

Dr. Glenda Lawrence-Knight, Princeville Town Manager

Benton Moss, Simmons & Harris

Amy Pridgen-Hamlett, Nash County Department of Social Services

Ashley Reynolds, Parent

Catherine Roche, Braswell Library Director, Designee Gloria Sutton

Monique Smith, Parent

Wendy Wilson, Carlton Family Foundation

Robert Yarbrough, St. Mark AME Church

27 Board Members

*The Executive Committee is to be made up of the Board officers, Committee Chairs, and 3 At-Large members.

If you are interested in joining a Committee or the Board, please contact Henrietta Zalkind, Executive Director.